Order
TECHNOLOGY

Trademarks and counterfeiting

Luxury and counterfeiting

Trade in counterfeit and pirated products has been steadily increasing in recent years - even as overall trade volumes have stagnated. They now account for 3.3% of world trade, according to a new report by the OECD and the EU Intellectual Property Office in 2019.

According to the latest studies on counterfeit and pirated goods, the value of counterfeit imports worldwide based on customs seizure data peaked in 2016 at USD 509 billion, up from USD 461 billion in 2013.

For the European Union, counterfeit trade accounted for 6.8% of imports from third countries in 2016, up from 5% in 2013. Worse, these figures do not include counterfeits produced and consumed in the country, nor pirated products distributed via the Internet.

To combat this very high-growth phenomenon, the luxury sector has invested massively in ultra-sophisticated technological solutions (Internet of Things, Big Data, Machine Learning...). It is also putting pressure on governments to extend the powers of law enforcement agencies to seize and destroy counterfeit products, prosecute buyers and retailers, and block access to websites selling counterfeit products.

Despite these efforts, however, they are not bearing fruit, in particular because of increased competition, the lack of common standards in this sector and the absence of effective laws commensurate with the stakes.

Counterfeit luxury goods account for 60-70% of the total counterfeit market, ahead of pharmaceuticals and entertainment products as shown in the following diagram (source : OECD - Trends in Trade in Counterfeit and Pirated Goods - March 2019)

Digital technology plays an important role in this respect and perhaps 40% of sales of luxury counterfeits are made online, as today's counterfeiters use and benefit from the omnipresence and anonymity of the Internet.

The distribution of countries impacted by counterfeiting is quite revealing for the Luxury watch industry. While it is clear that counterfeiting is very significant in France and the United States, it appears that the presence of Switzerland in 4th place shows that this sector is in the grip of fierce unfair competition (source : OECD - Trends in Trade in Counterfeit and Pirated Goods - March 2019)

These figures, which have been growing steadily for several years, suggest the inability of luxury companies to organise themselves and curb this scourge.

Many luxury brands have only become symbols of status and privilege. Throughout the luxury industry, the emphasis has been on signage rather than luxury; intangible versus tangible product attributes; and the logo on all other quality markers.

This philosophy has been consistently applied to supply chains, manufacturing and pricing: by relocating production to low-cost countries, luxury companies have broken the age-old association of luxury goods with their historic places of origin.

Outsourcing has also led to more flexible control over the supply chain, design and manufacturing, as counterfeiters put unprecedented pressure on each of these processes.

At the same time, despite cost savings, the prices of luxury goods vignettes have risen dramatically. Initially, the idea was to cushion the impact of the growing traffic of tourists buying abroad and reselling at home.

Revisit the client connection

It's also high time for many luxury goods companies to rethink their assumptions about customers, as their customers are changing.

Increasingly, today's nouveau riche are Millennials, and their ethics and tastes are quite different from those of their ancestors. The focus today is on experience, sustainability and sharing of products, consumption and exclusivity.

Some luxury brands are changing their strategies accordingly.

After-sales services such as maintenance, authentication, certification and repair, as well as the booming trade in "second-hand" luxury goods, are all promising areas for luxury goods companies to explore.

Certain watch brands (i.e. Audemars Piguet), had announced in 2018 their intention to launch a second-hand watch business. Properly executed, this type of strategic positioning can help a luxury company regain control of its products throughout their life cycle. It can also change the economics of buying a fake by offering consumers more affordable but still authentic options.

Watch brands are generally linked to a history, heritage and tradition that associates them with memorable moments (the first man on the moon for Omega), universes (automobile for Tag Heuer) or individuals (Rolex Daytona and Paul Newman, Monaco Tag Heuer and Steve McQueen).

The intrinsically hedonic nature of luxury brands must be reinforced and conveyed by high levels of service and, while quality and know-how guarantee functional satisfaction, luxury products provide greater psychological and social needs than other products.

These characteristics also create brands with which consumers form personal bonds, further enhancing the usefulness of these products as signals about the social groups with which users wish to be affiliated.

In summary

The high signage value and low accessibility of luxury goods attract consumers to their counterfeits. Due to lower prices and more accessible distribution channels, counterfeiting has become an unavoidable problem for luxury watch brands.

The Watch Certificate™ has the ambition to become a technological standardization tool to effectively combat counterfeiting.

Nous contacter
TECHNOLOGIE

Les marques et la contrefaçon

Le luxe et la contrefaçon

Les échanges de produits contrefaits et piratés ont augmenté de manière régulière ces dernières années - alors même que les volumes globaux des échanges stagnaient. Ils représentent désormais 3,3% du commerce mondial, selon un nouveau rapport de l’OCDE et de l’Office de la propriété intellectuelle de l’UE en 2019.

Selon les dernières études sur les produits contrefaits et piratés, la valeur des contrefaçons importées dans le monde sur la base des données de saisie douanière culminait en 2016 à 509 milliards USD, contre 461 milliards USD en 2013.

Pour l'Union européenne, le commerce de contrefaçon représentait 6,8% des importations en provenance de pays tiers en 2016, contre 5% en 2013. Pire, ces chiffres n'incluent pas les contrefaçons produites et consommées dans le pays, ni les produits piratés distribués via Internet.

Pour lutter contre ce phénomène à très forte croissance, le secteur du luxe a investi massivement dans des solutions technologiques ultrasophistiquées (Internet des Objets, Big Data, Machine Learning…). Il fait aussi pression sur les gouvernements pour qu’ils étendent les pouvoirs des organismes chargés de l’application de la loi pour saisir et détruire les produits contrefaits, poursuivre les acheteurs et les revendeurs et bloquer l’accès aux sites Web qui vendent des produits contrefaits.

Malgré cela, ces efforts ne portent pas leurs fruits du fait notamment de la concurrence accrue, l’absence de normes communes sur ce secteur et de lois efficaces, proportionnelles aux enjeux.

Les faux produits de luxe représentent 60 à 70% du marché total de la contrefaçon, devant les produits pharmaceutiques et les produits de divertissement comme en témoigne le schéma suivant (source : OCDE - Trends in Trade in Counterfeit and Pirated Goods – March 2019)

Le numérique joue un rôle important à cet égard et peut-être 40% des ventes de contrefaçons de luxe se font en ligne, car les contrefacteurs d'aujourd'hui utilisent et profitent de l’omniprésence et l'anonymat de l'espace Internet.

La répartition des pays impactés par la contrefaçon est assez révélatrice pour l’industrie du Luxe horloger. S’il est évident que la contrefaçon est très importante en France et aux Etats Unis, il apparait que la présence de la Suisse en 4ème place met en évidence que ce secteur est en proie à une concurrence déloyale féroce. (source : OCDE - Trends in Trade in Counterfeit and Pirated Goods – March 2019)

Ces chiffres en croissance soutenue depuis plusieurs années laissent suggérer l’incapacité des entreprises de luxe à s’organiser et endiguer ce fléau.

De nombreuses marques de luxe sont uniquement devenues des symboles de statut et de privilège. Dans l'ensemble de l'industrie du luxe, l'accent a été mis sur la signalisation plutôt que sur le luxe ; les attributs de produit intangibles par rapport aux attributs tangibles du produit ; et le logo sur tous les autres marqueurs de qualité.

Cette philosophie a été constamment appliquée aux chaînes d'approvisionnement, à la fabrication et aux prix : en délocalisant la production vers des pays à bas coûts, les entreprises de luxe ont rompu l'association séculaire des produits de luxe avec leurs lieux d'origine historiques.

L'externalisation a également conduit à un contrôle assoupli de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, de la conception et de la fabrication, quand les contrefacteurs exerçaient une pression sans précédent sur chacun de ces processus.

Dans le même temps, malgré les économies de coûts, les prix des vignettes des produits de luxe ont considérablement augmenté. Dans un premier temps, l'idée était d'amortir l'impact du trafic croissant des touristes achetant à l'étranger et revendant chez eux.

Revisiter la connexion client

Il est également grand temps pour de nombreuses entreprises de produits de luxe de redessiner les hypothèses sur les clients, car leurs clients évoluent.

De plus en plus, les nouveaux riches d'aujourd'hui sont des Millennials, et leur éthique et leurs goûts sont assez différents de ceux de leurs aïeux. L'accent est mis aujourd’hui sur l'expérience, la durabilité et le partage des produits, de la consommation et de l'exclusivité.

Certaines marques de luxe modifient leurs stratégies en conséquence.

Un service après-vente tel que l’entretien, l’authentification, la certification et réparation, ainsi que le commerce en plein essor d'articles de luxe « d’occasion », sont tous des domaines prometteurs à explorer pour les entreprises de produits de luxe.

Certaines marques horlogères (i.e. Audemars Piguet), avaient annoncé en 2018 leur intention de lancer une activité de montres d'occasion. Exécuté correctement, ce type de positionnement stratégique peut aider une entreprise de luxe à reprendre le contrôle de ses produits tout au long de leur cycle de vie. Cela peut également changer l'économie de l'achat d'un faux en offrant aux consommateurs des options plus abordables mais toujours authentiques.

Les marques horlogères sont généralement liées à une histoire, un patrimoine et une tradition qui les associent à des instants mémorables (le premier homme sur la lune pour Omega), des univers (automobile pour Tag Heuer) ou des individus (Rolex Daytona et Paul Newman, Monaco Tag Heuer et Steve McQueen).

La nature intrinsèquement hédonique des marques de luxe doit être renforcée et véhiculée par des niveaux de service élevés et, tandis que la qualité et le savoir-faire garantissent la satisfaction fonctionnelle, les produits de luxe fournissent des besoins psychologiques et sociaux plus importants que d'autres produits.

Ces caractéristiques créent également des marques avec lesquelles les consommateurs nouent des liens personnels, ce qui renforce encore l'utilité de ces produits en tant que signaux sur les groupes sociaux avec lesquels les utilisateurs souhaitent être affiliés.

En résumé

La valeur de signalisation élevée et la faible accessibilité des produits de luxe attirent les consommateurs vers leurs contrefaçons. En raison de la baisse des prix et des canaux de distribution plus accessibles, la contrefaçon est devenue un problème incontournable pour les marques horlogères de luxe.

Le Watch Certificate™, c’est l’ambition de devenir un outil technologique de normalisation permettant de lutter efficacement contre la contrefaçon.