Contact us
TECHNOLOGY

Vision

Faced with the major challenges facing the luxury industry and in particular the watch sector (counterfeiting, lack of standards, multiplication of distribution channels), we are convinced that technology has a major role to play (see section Brands and Counterfeiting)

Our objective is simple: to be the trusted third party that guarantees the link between the watch and its owner through the Watch Certificate™ certificate, by offering a whole range of innovative services for our customers and partners.

The Watch Certificate™ aims to become a technological standardization tool to effectively combat counterfeiting.

A transparency tool

The Watch Certificate™ is a standardized transparency tool for the watchmaking market whose vocation is to protect and reassure owners, facilitate the work of professionals, and increase the general level of confidence in the market.

The Watch Certificate™ facilitates access to the market for new customers and constitutes a unique solution on the market:

- which responds to the urgency of the counterfeiting challenge,
- which sanitizes the second-hand market through the implementation of an objective, forgery-proof and anonymous standard,
- which guarantees a "Plug and Play" implementation in a very short period of time, at low cost,
- which is based on an agnostic and open technology that responds to the trends in the sector.

Genesis

What has been, in your opinion, the greatest difficulty of such a project?
Combining an advanced technology such as the blockchain with a multi-secular industry was certainly the biggest challenge. It was necessary to make this offer of a digital duplicate of a physical asset simple and readable.
But, we were convinced that the technology had so much to offer that the first feedback from our partners is enthusiastic, proof that we are responding with the Watch Certificate™ has a real need and is lacking on the second-hand watch market.

A stainless steel watch certificate... how did you come up with that?
It seemed obvious to us that there had to be a physical "bridge" between the watch and the Watch Certificate™. This met the codes we had set ourselves: luxury, simplicity, and longevity. Steel allows the watch to be accompanied with this card throughout its existence. we wanted the three variations of the card (Steel, Gold, and Black) to be of high quality and, themselves be, very beautiful objects.

Who was the first to join the network to examine watches for the issuance of a watch certificate?
The first to join our network are the auction houses for which we accompanied one of them to one of the two most important watchmaking auctions in June 2020. As health circumstances made it impossible to be present, the establishment of the Watch Certificate™ for each of the lots made it possible to facilitate, speed up and reassure exchanges with buyers.

The stage we are now beginning aims to set up our network of approved retailers in France and abroad. Some have already joined us and this is just the beginning.

Our membership process is very rigorous so that our resellers are true partners, committed to delivering a very high quality of service according to demanding specifications.

You extend Watch Certificate™ to auction houses, watchmakers, digital platforms. What has been the answer so far?
All the feedback we have had so far is very enthusiastic. The value brought by the Watch Certificate™ to the watch market is undeniable. Based on trust and authenticity, this sector is looking for standards and objectivity.

If it were an objective, the Watch Certificate™ would be to become the " GIA certificate" of the watch! Anyone can give an opinion on a watch, but in the end, the Watch Certificate™ overrules because of its know-how, independence, and objectivity.

Auction houses have also realized that for their customers, the Watch Certificate™ is above all the most accurate condition report in the world thanks to its numerous checkpoints and precise images of each watch.

What do you think will be the level of adoption of the blockchain in the second-hand luxury sector and particularly in the watch industry over the next 2 years?
Blockchain technology has been attracting growing interest in the luxury industry for several years. Counterfeiting and the lack of second-hand market standards make the use of this type of technology indispensable.

Moreover, the troubled times we are currently experiencing are accelerating the digitization of this industry. Information must be objective, complete, secure, and accurate. Several brands are trying, with varying degrees of success, to use blockchain technology in factories and for new watches. At Watch Certificate™ we are certain that soon it will be adopted by the entire second-hand industry.

Commander
TECHNOLOGIE

La vision

Face aux défis majeurs auxquels doit faire face l’industrie du luxe et notamment le secteur de l’horlogerie (contrefaçon, absence de norme, multiplication des canaux de distribution), nous sommes convaincus que la technologie a un rôle majeur à jouer (voir section Les marques et la contrefaçon)

Notre objectif est simple : être le tiers de confiance qui garantit le lien entre la montre, son propriétaire par le biais du certificat Watch Certificate™, en proposant toute une gamme de services innovants pour nos clients et partenaires.

Le Watch Certificate™, c’est l’ambition de devenir un outil technologique de normalisation permettant de lutter efficacement contre la contrefaçon.

Un outil de transparence

Le Watch Certificate™ est un outil normé de transparence pour le marché horloger dont la vocation est de protéger et rassurer les propriétaires, faciliter le travail des professionnels et augmenter le niveau de confiance général sur le marché.

Le Watch Certificate™ facilite l’accès au marché à de nouveaux clients et constitue une solution unique sur le marché :

- Qui répond à l’urgence du défi de la contrefaçon,
- Qui assainit le marché de seconde main par la mise en place d’une norme objective, infalsifiable et anonyme,
- Qui garantit une mise en œuvre « Plug and Play» dans un délai très court, à faible coût,
- Qui s’appuie sur une technologie agnostique et ouverte répondant aux tendances du secteur

La genèse

Quelle a été, selon vous, la plus grande difficulté d’un tel projet ?
Associer une technologie avancée comme la blockchain à une industrie multiséculaire a été certainement le plus grand défi à relever. Il fallait rendre simple et lisible cette offre de double numérique d’un bien physique.
Mais nous étions convaincus que la technologie avait tellement de choses à apporter que les premiers retours de nos partenaires sont enthousiastes, preuve que nous répondons par le Watch Certificate™ a un réel besoin et manque sur le marché horloger de seconde main.

Un certificat de montre en acier inoxydable… comment en êtes-vous arrivé à cela ?
Il nous a paru évident qu’il devait exister une « passerelle » physique entre la montre et le Watch Certificate™. Cette carte répondait aux codes que nous nous étions fixés : luxe, simplicité et longévité.  L’acier permet d’accompagner la montre tout au long de son existence. Les trois déclinaisons de carte (Steel, Gold et Black) que nous avons voulues de très grandes qualités constituent à elles seules un très bel objet.

Qui ont été les premiers à rejoindre le réseau pour examiner les montres pour la délivrance d'un certificat de montre ?
Les premiers à avoir rejoint notre réseau sont les maisons de vente pour lesquelles nous avons accompagné l’une d’entre elles lors de l'une des deux plus importantes ventes aux enchères de l'horlogerie en Juin 2020. Les circonstances sanitaires rendant impossible le présentiel, l’établissement des Watch Certificate™ pour chacun des lots a permis de faciliter, accélérer et rassurer les échanges avec les acheteurs.

L’étape que nous débutons maintenant vise à mettre en place notre réseau de revendeurs agrées en France mais aussi à l’international. Certains nous ont déjà rejoint et cela n’est qu’un début.

Notre processus d’adhésion est très rigoureux si bien que nos revendeurs sont de véritables partenaires, engagés à délivrer une très haute qualité de prestation selon un cahier des charges exigeant.

Vous étendez Watch Certificate™ aux maisons de ventes, aux horlogers, aux plateformes numériques. Quelle a été la réponse jusqu'à présent ?
Tous les retours que nous avons eus pour le moment sont très enthousiastes. La valeur apportée par le Watch Certificate™ pour le marché horloger est indéniable. Basé sur la confiance et l’authenticité, ce secteur est à la recherche de norme et d’objectivité.

S’il était un objectif, le Watch Certificate™ serait celui de devenir le « certificat GIA » de la montre ! Tout le monde peut donner un avis sur une montre mais finalement le Watch Certificate™ emporte la décision en raison de son savoir-faire, son indépendance et son objectivité.

Les maisons de ventes ont également réalisé que pour leurs clients, le Watch Certificate™ est avant tout le rapport de condition le plus précis au monde grâce à ses nombreux points de contrôle et à des images précises de chaque montre.

Quel sera selon vous le niveau d'adoption de la blockchain dans le secteur du luxe de seconde main et particulièrement dans l’industrie horlogère au cours des 2 prochaines années ?
La technologie Blockchain suscite un intérêt croissant pour l’industrie du luxe depuis plusieurs années. La contrefaçon et l’absence de normes du marché de seconde main rendent indispensables le recours à ce type de technologie.

Plus encore, la période troublée que nous connaissons actuellement accélère la numérisation et la digitalisation de cette industrie. L’information doit être objective, complète, sécurisée et précise. Plusieurs marques essaient avec plus ou moins de succès d’utiliser la technologie blockchain en usine et pour des montres neuves, chez Watch Certificate™ nous sommes certains que prochainement c’est toute l’industrie de seconde main qui l’adoptera.