Contact us
TECHNOLOGY

Blockchain

What is the Blockchain?

Developed in 2008, the blockchain is a technology for storing and transmitting information.

This technology is based on the following foundations:
- Transparency,
- Security,
- No central control body.


More concretely, the blockchain is a database shared on a computer network. It allows its users - connected in a network - to share data without any intermediary.

What applications in the business world?

Originally, the first blockchain applications were deployed in the financial sector. The blockchain technology started with the creation of a new virtual currency and then as a way to move this cryptocurrency from point A to point B. It is now used by a growing number of companies to monitor and move any amount of assets around the world as easily as sending an e-mail.

The fields of operation have become innumerable and the stakes colossal (banking, insurance, supply chain in many sectors (food, luxury, international trade, distribution, wine, aeronautics, automotive...), music industry, energy, real estate, voting...)

The world's largest companies have adopted and use today this underlying technology of crypto-currency and are implementing it to accelerate and certify their business processes, increase the transparency of exchanges and potentially save billions of dollars.

From instant settlement of government bonds in Germany, to verifying the provenance of diamonds mined in Africa, and providing cash to a small parts supplier in Istanbul, companies have gone far beyond the theoretical benefits of the blockbuster.

So what are the advantages of such a technology?

Blockchain technology builds on the incredible potential and deployment of new technologies. It offers multiple advantages:

- The speed of the transactions, because the validation of an element is almost instantaneous.
- The security of the system, because the validation is carried out by a set of different users, who do not know each other. This makes it possible to guard against the risk of malevolence or misappropriation since the nodes monitor the system and control each other.
- The gains in productivity and efficiency generated by the fact that this technology "entrusts" the organization of exchanges to a computer protocol, which mechanically reduces the transaction or centralization costs existing in traditional systems (financial costs, control or certification costs, use of intermediaries who are paid for their service; automation of certain services, etc.).

Which Blockchain uses the Watch Certificate™ and why?

Watch Certificate™ is based on one of the major and rapidly growing blockchain technologies calledEthereum. It is a recognized and proven technology that is used by governments, financial institutions, companies of all sizes and industries.

Ethereum is an open-source public service that uses blockchain technology to facilitate intelligent contracts (between companies and/or its customers) securely and without third parties.

Although there are many similarities between Ethereum's blockchain technology and Bitcoin's, there are also significant differences. Here are some of them:

- Ethereum offers several methods of exchange, including encrypted money, while Bitcoin trades in encrypted money.
- Both technologies are based on different security protocols: Ethereum uses a "proof of stake" system as opposed to the "proof of work" system used by Bitcoin.
- Bitcoin only allows public transactions (without permission or censorship); Ethereum allows both permission and non-permission transactions.
- For Bitcoin, computers running the platform and verifying transactions receive rewards; Ethereum does not offer rewards.

Finally, at Watch Certificate™ we are convinced that the key advantage of Ethereum is that it allows individuals and organizations to do much more than simply transfer money between entities.

Ethereum allows the deployment of all kinds of decentralized applications and high value-added services to both corporate and individual customers.

We are convinced that the Ethereum blockchain offers decisive advantages for the watchmaking sector, as it allows:
- To offer countless unique and innovative services
- To improve the traceability of objects
- To guarantee the integrity of information
- To fight against counterfeiting and the resale of stolen watches
- To take advantage of technology to "digitalize" the process of historizing the property and restore trust


A simple example to illustrate our technology?

One of the services offered by the Watch Certificate™ concerns the transfer of ownership. Therefore, let's simply detail the actions generated by this transaction and their translation within the Blockchain:

Step One: A transaction is recorded. For example, let's say Mr. Brown sells two of his timepieces to Mr. Blue for 10,000 euros. The registration of a Watch Certificate™(1) lists the details, including a digital signature of each party.
Step Two: The transaction is verified by the network. Computers on the network, called "nodes", check the details of the exchange to ensure that it is valid.
Step 3: Step 4: Step 5: Step 6: Step 7: Step 8: Step 9: Step 10: Step 11: Records accepted by the network are added to a block. Each block contains a code called a unique hash code(2). It also contains the hash code of the previous block in the chain.
Step Four: The block is added to the blockchain. The hash codes connect the blocks together in a specific order.

(1) Watch Certificate™ has 43+ attributes (serial numbers, HD photos, movement, dial, case, accessories, ...), which constitute 43+ metadata from which a unique Watch Certificate™ is created. This Watch Certificate™ is recorded in the blockchain. Although there are already paper certificates produced by brands proving the provenance of a timepiece, a blockchain is unalterable, continuously updated, and accessible from anywhere in the world. What is more, the fact that the register is not in the hands of a single player but is distributed makes it easier to bring together several major players in the sector and thus to set up a standard.
(2) A hash code is created by a mathematical function that takes numerical information and generates a chain of letters and numbers. It transforms a string of characters of any length into another string of fixed length.

If there are two important technical characteristics to remember about Blockchain technology it is that:
1- Whatever the size of the original file, a hash function will always generate a code of the same length. For example, a 280-character tweet from Barack Obama would give a hash of the same length as the 20.8 million words in Diderot and d'Alembert's encyclopedia!
2- Any modification of the original entry will generate a new hash. So, if someone decided to delete a single comma from the work of Diderot and d'Alembert, it would appear, because the hash would change. And since the next block still has the old hash, to restore the string, a hacker would have to recompute the next one and all the others.



More information:

Digital fingerprint
Unique representation of a digital document, it is calculated with the encryption standard called ChainpointSHA256v2.
It is one-way and does not allow you to reconstruct your data from their fingerprint.

1 registration = 1 transaction
The registration of a document in the Blockchain corresponds to a transaction in the Blockchain (which has a value in €), it is paid in Ether.


Verify a registration
Owners of Watch Certificate™ can verify the registration of their certificate by using third-party sites.
For example: https: //etherscan.io/

Nous contacter
TECHNOLOGIE

La Blockchain

Qu'est ce que la Blockchain ?

Développée à partir de 2008, La blockchain est une technologie de stockage et de transmission d’informations.

Cette technologie est basée sur les fondements suivants :
- Transparence,
- Sécurité,
- Absence d'organe central de contrôle.


De manière plus concrète, la blockchain est une base de données partagée sur un réseau d'ordinateurs. Elle permet à ses utilisateurs - connectés en réseau - de partager des données sans intermédiaire.

Quelles applications dans le monde de l'entreprise ?

A l'origine, les premières applications blockchain ont été déployées dans le secteur financier. La technologie blockchain a débuté par la création d'une nouvelle monnaie virtuelle puis comme un moyen de déplacer cette crypto monnaie d'un point A au point B. Elle est maintenant utilisée par un nombre croissant d'entreprises notamment pour surveiller et déplacer n'importe quelle quantité d'actifs dans le monde aussi facilement que d'envoyer un e-mail.

Les champs d’exploitation sont devenus innombrables et les enjeux colossaux (banques, assurances, Supply Chain de nombreux secteurs (agroalimentaire, luxe, commerce international, distribution, vins, aéronautique, automobile…), industrie musicale, énergie, immobilier, vote,...)

Les plus grandes entreprises mondiales ont adopté et utilisent aujourd'hui cette technologie sous-jacente des crypto-monnaies et l'implémentent pour notamment accélérer et certifier leurs processus commerciaux, augmenter la transparence des échanges et potentiellement économiser des milliards de dollars.

Du règlement instantané des obligations gouvernementales en Allemagne à la vérification de la provenance des diamants extraits en Afrique et à l'apport de liquidités à un petit fournisseur de pièces détachées à Istanbul, les entreprises sont allées bien au-delà des avantages théoriques de la blockchain.

Quels sont alors les avantages d'une telle technologie ?

La technologie Blockchain s'appuie sur l'incroyable potentiel et déploiement des nouvelles technologies. Celle-ci présente de multiples avantages :

- La rapidité des transactions car la validation d’un élément est quasi instantanée.
- La sécurité du système, du fait que la validation est effectuée par un ensemble d’utilisateurs différents, qui ne se connaissent pas. Cela permet de se prémunir du risque de malveillance ou de détournement, puisque les nœuds surveillent le système et se contrôlent mutuellement.
- Les gains de productivité et d’efficacité générés grâce au fait que cette technologie "confie" l’organisation des échanges à un protocole informatique, ce qui réduit mécaniquement les coûts de transaction ou de centralisation existant dans les systèmes traditionnels (frais financiers, frais de contrôle ou de certification, recours à des intermédiaires qui se rémunèrent pour leur service ; automatisation de certaines prestations, etc.).

Quelle Blockchain utilise le Watch Certificate™ et pourquoi ?

Watch Certificate™ se base sur une des technologies blockchain majeure et en pleine expansion intitulée Ethereum. C'est une technologie reconnue et éprouvée qui est utilisée aussi bien par des gouvernements, des institutions financières, des entreprises de toutes tailles et de toute industrie.

Ethereum est un service public open source qui utilise la technologie de la blockchain pour faciliter les contrats intelligents (entre entreprises et/ou ses clients) en toute sécurité et sans tiers.

Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses similitudes entre les technologies blockchain d'Ethereum ou Bitcoin, il existe également des différences significatives. Voici quelques-uns:

- Ethereum propose plusieurs méthodes d'échange, y compris la crypto-monnaie alors que Bitcoin négocie en crypto-monnaie.
- Les deux technologies sont basées sur différents protocoles de sécurité: Ethereum utilise un système de «preuve d'enjeu» par opposition au système de «preuve de travail» utilisé par Bitcoin.
- Bitcoin n'autorise que les transactions publiques (sans permission ou sans censure); Ethereum autorise à la fois les transactions avec et sans permission.
- Pour Bitcoin, les ordinateurs exécutant la plateforme et vérifiant les transactions reçoivent des récompenses, Ethereum n'offre pas de récompenses.

Enfin, chez Watch Certificate™ nous sommes convaincus que l'avantage déterminant d'Ethereum est qu'il permet aux particuliers et aux organisations de faire beaucoup plus que de simplement transférer de l'argent entre des entités.

Ethereum permet de déployer toutes sortes d'applications décentralisées et des services à forte valeur ajoutée aussi bien à la clientèle entreprise qu'auprès de particuliers.

Nous sommes convaincus que la blockchain Ethereum présente des avantages décisifs pour le secteur horloger, car elle permet :
- De proposer d'innombrables services uniques et innovants
- D'améliorer la traçabilité des objets
- De garantir l'intégrité des informations
- De lutter contre la contrefaçon et la revente de montres volées
- De profiter de la technologie pour « digitaliser » le processus d'historisation du bien et restaurer la confiance


Un exemple simple pour illustrer notre technologie ?

Un des services offert par le Watch Certificate™ concerne le transfert de propriété. Aussi, détaillons simplement les actions générées par cette transaction et leur traduction au sein de la Blockchain :

Etape 1 : Une transaction est enregistrée. Par exemple, disons que M. Brown vend deux de ses garde-temps à M. Blue pour 10 000 euros. L'enregistrement d'un Watch Certificate™(1) répertorie les détails, y compris une signature numérique de chaque partie.
Etape 2 : La transaction est vérifiée par le réseau. Les ordinateurs du réseau, appelés «nœuds», vérifient les détails de l'échange pour s'assurer qu'il est valide.
Etape 3 : Les enregistrements acceptés par le réseau sont ajoutés à un bloc. Chaque bloc contient un code dénommé code de hachage(2) unique. Il contient également le code de hachage du bloc précédent de la chaîne.
Etape 4 : Le bloc est ajouté à la blockchain. Les codes de hachage connectent les blocs ensemble dans un ordre spécifique.

(1) Watch Certificate™ recense 43+ attributs (numéros de série, photos HD, mouvement, cadran, boîtier, accessoires,…), qui constituent 43+ métadonnées à partir desquelles un Watch Certificate™ unique est créé. Ce Watch Certificate™ est enregistré dans la blockchain. Il existe certes déjà des certificats papiers produits par les marques prouvant la provenance d'un garde-temps, mais une blockchain est inaltérable, mise à jour continuellement, et accessible depuis n’importe quel endroit dans le monde. Plus encore, le fait que le registre ne soit pas aux mains d’un acteur unique mais distribué, permet plus facilement de rassembler plusieurs grands acteurs du secteur et ainsi de mettre en place une norme.
(2) Un code de hachage est créé par une fonction mathématique qui prend des informations numériques et en génère une chaîne de lettres et de chiffres. Il transforme une chaine de caractères de longueur indifférente en une autre chaine de longueur fixe.

S'il devait y avoir deux caractéristiques techniques importantes à retenir sur la technologie Blockchain c'est que :
1- Quelle que soit la taille du fichier d'origine, une fonction de hachage générera toujours un code de même longueur. Par exemple, un tweet de 280 caractères de Barack Obama donnerait un hachage de même longueur que les 20,8 millions de mots de l'encyclopédie de Diderot et d'Alembert !
2- Toute modification de l'entrée d'origine générera un nouveau hachage. Donc, si quelqu'un décidait de supprimer une seule virgule de l'œuvre de Diderot et d'Alembert, elle apparaîtrait, car le hachage changerait. Et dans la mesure où le bloc suivant dispose toujours de l'ancien hachage, pour restaurer la chaîne, un hacker devrait recalculer le suivant et tous les autres.



Plus d'informations :

Empreinte numérique
Représentation unique d’un document numérique, il est calculé avec le standard de cryptage appelé ChainpointSHA256v2.
Elle est à sens unique, et ne permet en aucun cas de reconstruire vos données à partir de leur empreinte.

1 enregistrement = 1 transaction
L’enregistrement d’un document dans la Blockchain correspond à une transaction dans la Blockchain (laquelle a une valeur en €), elle est payée en Ether.


Vérifier un enregistrement
Les propriétaires de Watch Certificate™ peuvent vérifier l’enregistrement de leur certificat en utilisant des sites tiers.
Par exemple : https://etherscan.io/