Watch Certificate: authentication certificate for luxury watches
Contact us
cONSEILS

Recommendations to follow when buying a second-hand watch in relation to stolen items

Buying a second-hand watch can be risky, so it is imperative that you follow certain tips to ensure that you are as protected as possible against the risk of receiving stolen goods and the financial loss that can result.


1. Checking the seller
Ask for the seller's full contact details (name, phone, email, address) and bring a copy of their ID with you when you are offered a watch. This should be the first step before any further verification. If a seller wishes to remain anonymous or gives false information, consider this a red flag. Merchants need to mitigate risk and remain compliant using a KYC and anti-money laundering platform such as SmartSearch.

2. Provenance
Ask the seller for the watch's ownership history and note all information provided.

3. Secure the watch
Take the watch to a safe place for inspection, e.g. to another room or behind the counter, out of sight of the seller. Explain to the seller that the watch should be kept in the shop until the pre-checks are completed.


4. Authenticity checks
Check the authenticity of the watch and all its parts, including the movement. Check that the serial number of the watch matches the number on the documents.

5. Secure payment
If the above checks are validated, pay by bank transfer, not by cash or cheque.

7. Invoice
Keep an invoice of the transaction with the seller's details and the details of the watch, including the serial number.

8. Future Sale Controls
The result of your search operated by Watch Certificate™ in partnership with THE WATCH REGISTER database
displays the status of the watch at the time the search was submitted. The status of any watch may change in the future and it is therefore advisable to request a search update at the point of future sale.

9. Defective Title Insurance
This is recommended for merchants as an additional level of protection against possible future claims and any financial loss that may result.

____

Regarding The Watch Register:
Watch Certificate™ performs theft status checks with The Watch Register - the world's largest international database of stolen watches. It currently lists over 70,000 stolen watches, and is updated regularly - including by police forces.

Watch Certificate : certificat d'authentification de montre de luxe
Nous contacter
cONSEILS

Recommandations à suivre lors de l'achat d'une montre d'occasion par rapport aux objets volés

Acheter une montre d'occasion peut représenter un risque, aussi il est impératif de suivre certains conseils pour vous garantir la meilleure protection possible contre le risque lié au recel d'objets volés et la perte financière qui peut en découler.


1. Vérifications sur le vendeur
Demandez les coordonnées complètes du vendeur (nom, téléphone, email, adresse) et munissez-vous d'une copie de sa pièce d'identité au moment où une montre vous est offerte. Ceci devrait être la première étape avant toute autre vérification. Si un vendeur souhaite rester anonyme ou donne de fausses informations, considérez cela comme un drapeau rouge. Les commerçants doivent atténuer les risques et rester conforme à l'aide d'une plate-forme KYC et anti-blanchiment d'argent telle que SmartSearch.

2. Provenance
Demandez au vendeur l'historique de propriété de la montre et notez toutes les informations fournies.

3. Sécurisez la montre
Emmenez la montre dans un endroit sûr lors des contrôles, par ex. à un autre pièce ou derrière le comptoir, hors de la vue du vendeur. Expliquez au vendeur que la montre doit être conservée en magasin jusqu'à ce que les vérifications préalables soient terminées.

4. Contrôles d'authenticité
Vérifiez l'authenticité de la montre et de toutes ses pièces, y compris le mouvement. Vérifiez que le numéro de série de la montre correspond au numéro sur les documents.

5. Paiement sécurisé
Si les vérifications ci-dessus sont validées, payez par virement bancaire, et non en espèces ou par chèque.

7. Facture
Conservez une facture de la transaction précisant les coordonnées du vendeur et le détail de la montre, y compris son numéro de série.

8. Contrôles sur la vente future
Le résultat de votre recherche opérée par Watch Certificate™ en partenariat avec la base de données THE WATCH REGISTER
affiche l'état de la montre au moment où la recherche a été soumise. Le statut de toute montre peut changer à l'avenir et il est donc conseillé de demander une mise à jour recherche au point de vente future.

9. Assurance "titres défectueux"
Ceci est recommandé pour les commerçants comme un niveau supplémentaire de protection contre d'éventuelles réclamations futures et toute perte financière qui pourrait en résulter.

____

Concernant The Watch Register :
Watch Certificate™ effectue des vérifications du statut de vol avec The Watch Register - la plus grande base de données internationale de montres volées au monde. Elle répertorie actuellement plus de 70 000 montres volées, et est mise à jour régulièrement - notamment par les forces de police.